News and Views

Australian training awards to precede Darwin COAG meeting

The peak national awards for vocational and education training (VET) – which recognise organisations and individuals for their outstanding contribution to skilling Australia – will be hosted in Darwin.

The Australian Training Awards are the culmination of the state and territory awards with winners from each jurisdiction competing in the national finals.

The awards are held on the evening before the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Industry and Skills Council, also being hosted in Darwin in 2016.

Chief Minister Michael Gunner said VET courses provided a pathway into diverse careers in the Northern Territory.

“The Vet sector plays an integral role in the ongoing economic and social growth of the Territory by skilling and training the current and future workforce,” Mr Gunner said.

“The Northern Territory Government wants Territorians to be trained and upskilled, and equipped to make the most of future opportunities.”

Discussions at the annual Australian Governments, Industry and Skills Council will focus on skills reform, apprenticeships and training packages.

“Territorians have one of the highest rates of VET participation in Australia,” Mr Gunner said.

“Discussions will focus on skills reform, training packages, apprenticeships and data collection.

“It is important to be involved in these discussions to ensure the development of national policy suits the context and circumstances of the NT and does not disadvantage NT industry and business. “

There are 10 finalists representing the NT at the Australian Training Awards:

Organisation Categories:

  • Batchelor Institute – Large Training Provider of the Year Award.
  • Probuild (NT) Pty Ltd – Medium Employer of the Year Award.
  • The Arnhem Land Progress Aboriginal Corporation – Large Employer of the Year Award.

Individual Categories:

  • Dimiti Andresen – Australian School-based Apprentice of the Year Award
  • Ashlee Coleman – Vocational Student of the Year Award
  • Dawn Ivinson – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander of the Year Award
  • Neda Aleksic – Australian Apprentice (Trainee) of the Year Award
  • Ella Cavallaro – Australian Apprentice of the Year Award
  • Liam Fraser, Batchelor Institute – VET Teacher/Trainer of the Year
  • Isabel Osuna-Gatty from Batchelor Institute – Excellence in Language, Literacy and Numeracy Practice

Most Popular


To Top