News and Views

Celebrating the best in WA science

Applications are open for the 2017 WA Premier’s Science Awards, along with nominations for the 2017 Western Australian Science Hall of Fame.

The WA Premier’s Science Awards, which are now in their 16th year, celebrate the Western Australia’s best in scientific research and engagement.

The awards cover all fields of science including natural, medical, applied and technological science, engineering, and mathematics.

Past recipients have made some of the most notable and innovative scientific advances in WA.

The 2017 Premier’s Science Awards feature four award categories:

  • Scientist of the Year ($50,000 prize)
  • Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)
  • ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)
  • Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year ($10,000 prize).

The WA Science Hall of Fame was established in 2007 to recognise exceptional lifelong contributions from Western Australians to science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

Recipients are internationally renowned scientists who have been extensively engaged in outreach and the development of graduate students.

Applications for the WA Premier’s Science Awards and nominations for the WA Science Hall of Fame close at 10am on May 22 2017.

The WA Premier’s Science Award winners and the Hall of Fame inductee will be announced at an awards ceremony on August 17 2017 during National Science Week, Australia’s biggest annual celebration of science.

For more information and to apply, visit

Most Popular


To Top