News and Views

Celebrating the Territory’s terrific teachers on World Teachers Day

Teachers, principals and school support staff have celebrated World Teacher’s Day at a function hosted by the Northern Territory Minister for Education, Eva Lawler.

World Teacher’s Day recognises the vital contribution made by educators in delivering high quality education to students all over the world.
Minister Lawler said she was delighted to present the Teaching in the Territory Excellence Awards to those who have contributed significantly to the outcomes of Territory students.

“There is no doubt teaching is a rewarding career and it really is a privilege as Education Minister to acknowledge the hard work and dedication of the Territory’s education professionals.

World Teachers’ Day is celebrated in more than 100 countries and recognises the efforts of teachers in an increasingly complex, multicultural and technology-driven society.

“As an educator I know how important it is for our children to receive a quality education that equips them with the skills and capabilities they need to confidently engage in our society.

“This Government’s investment in schools will create more jobs in the education workforce, especially for Indigenous Territorians, and we will increase the resources in our schools to improve the quality of our education outcomes.

“A well performing and properly resourced school system is fundamental for a prosperous future for the Territory,” Minister Lawler said.

The Teaching in the Territory Excellence Awards are now in their 11th year and celebrate government school teachers, support staff, principals and vocational educators who have contributed significantly to the outcomes of Territory students.

Each region has a winner for each category, and an overall winner for the Northern Territory is also announced. The overall Northern Territory winners are awarded $1000 prize money.

In 2016, a new category has been introduced to highlight the contribution made by teachers in special school settings – Northern Territory Teacher of the Year in a Special School.

The overall winners for the 2016 Teaching in the Territory Excellence Awards are:

Maisie Floyd – Tennant Creek High School – Northern Territory Principal of the Year
Heather Waugh – Nhulunbuy High School – Northern Territory Senior Secondary Teacher of the Year
Julie Morton – Darwin Middle School – Northern Territory Middle Years Teacher of the Year
Georgia Croad – Ngukurr School – Northern Territory Primary Teacher of the Year
Meg Hewett – Nganmarriyanga School – Northern Territory Early Childhood Teacher of the Year
Jen Guzman – Acacia Hill School – Northern Territory Teacher of the Year in a Special School
Trudie Clarke – Taminmin College – Northern Territory Vocational Education Trainer of the Year
Renez Lammon – Casuarina Street Primary School – Northern Territory Indigenous Educator Award
Carmy McLean – Sadadeen Primary School – Northern Territory Support Staff Member of the Year

Most Popular


To Top