News and Views

MRIWA PhD scholarships for 2021 attracts all women researchers

MRIWA PhD scholarships

Three PhD scholarships funded by the State Government, through the Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia (MRIWA), have been awarded to talented professionals working to deliver innovative research relevant to the State’s mining industry.

Elizabeth Wall has been awarded the Odwyn Jones PhD Scholarship, named in honour of pioneering Western Australian mining educator Professor Odwyn Jones AO.

Devika Bhatia has been awarded the MRIWA PhD Scholarship for Women.

Due to the exceptional quality of this year’s candidates, MRIWA has offered a third PhD Scholarship to Alexandra Halliday.

The recipients will join a cohort of promising PhD researchers to ensure WA remains at the forefront of minerals research and technology development.

Since its initiation in 2014, the MRIWA PhD scholarship program has invested $1.9 million to attract and support the development of elite research talent.

This is the first time in the seven-year history of the program that women have won all the competitive scholarships on offer, reversing the traditional male dominance of the industry.

More information about the MRIWA Scholarships program is available at

Source: WA Government

Most Popular


To Top