Who's Who

Ms Tonianne Dwyer elected Deputy Chancellor

At the Senate meeting held on 27 February 2017, Ms Tonianne Dwyer was elected Deputy Chancellor of the University of Queensland’s Senate.

Tonianne Dwyer is an independent non-executive director based in Brisbane.

She currently sits on the Boards of DEXUS Property Group, Metcash Limited, ALS Limited and the Queensland Treasury Corporation.

After a career in investment banking and real estate in the United Kingdom, Ms Dwyer moved to Brisbane in 2010.

She has a longstanding interest in the university sector having established one of the UK’s leading independent student housing businesses and launched a science park fund to invest in R&D facilities alongside universities.

Ms Dwyer was appointed by Senate in January 2014, at the start of the 33rd Senate term.

She is the new Chair of the Buildings and Grounds Committee, a member of the Finance Committee and the Governance Working Group, and has served on several special purpose committees during her tenure.

UQ Chancellor Peter Varghese AO said he was delighted that Ms Dwyer had agreed to take on this important role within the University Senate.

“In addition to benefiting from her wide business and financial acumen we look forward to her contribution as Chair of the Senate Buildings and Grounds Committee where her real estate experience and strategic approach will be invaluable,” Mr Varghese said.

Ms Dwyer said that she was honoured to have the opportunity to serve one of Australia’s leading universities as Deputy Chancellor.

“I look forward to supporting the work of the Senate and the Vice-Chancellor and President and his team to address the challenges of a rapidly changing domestic and global tertiary education sector, by investing in our student experience, our staff, our facilities and our research,” she said.

Ms Dwyer is a graduate of the University of Western Australia having been awarded BJuris (Hons) and LLB (Hons). She is a graduate of AICD and a member of Chief Executive Women.

She fills a vacancy following the resignation of Dr Jane Wilson in November 2016, after 10 years on Senate.

Ms Dwyer’s initial term will be until the expiration of the 33rd Senate in December 2017.

Most Popular


To Top