Who's Who

Rio gold medallist to represent Team UQ

University of Queensland graduate Emilee Cherry

Olympic gold medallist and University of Queensland graduate Emilee Cherry is one of two Australian representatives named to represent Team UQ in the 2017 AON Uni 7s Series.

The inaugural competition will feature eight universities, with Australian-contracted women’s sevens players allocated among the participating teams.

Cherry and Australian teammate Emma Sykes will wear Team UQ colours throughout the Series, which runs from 25 August 2017 to 30 September 2017.

Cherry, who studied a Bachelor of Health, Sport and Physical Education at UQ, was part of Australia’s women’s sevens team that won gold at the 2016 Rio Olympics.

One of the sport’s best-known players, Cherry was named 2014 World Sevens Player of the Year, and in April 2017, scored her 100th sevens try for Australia.

The 24-year-old said she looked forward to debuting for Team UQ.

“While studying at UQ, I witnessed the strong establishment of men’s rugby through the UQ Rugby Club, and I’m so excited to have the opportunity for Australia’s women’s sevens team to be at the forefront of rugby sevens in Australia,” Cherry said.

“The Uni 7s Series is a much-needed inclusion to the rugby calendar and will be extremely competitive with the inclusion of the nationally contracted players, who will help to develop and strengthen domestic competitions.

“The competition will greatly benefit the national team through continued development and talent identification.”

Like Cherry, Sykes has a strong UQ link, having represented UQ Rugby Club since 2016.

In November 2016, the utility back made her international sevens debut against Fiji.

Sykes said she looked forward to playing alongside Cherry for Team UQ.

“Being able to play with Emilee is always a privilege—she’s such an amazing player and I’m sure the girls in the squad will really enjoy having Emilee around,” Sykes said.

“The Uni 7s Series concept is definitely going to be a massive boost for women’s rugby, and will allow more girls to play at a higher level with and against some of the sport’s best players.”

Each squad must comprise a minimum 50 per cent quota of university students, with further recruitment to be led by Team UQ head coach Reg Tayler and the UQ Rugby Club.

Students wishing to play for Team UQ can register their interest by emailing Cameron McIntosh (Rugby Development Manager—UQ Rugby Club) on cmcintosh@uqrugby.com.

News of Cherry and Sykes joining Team UQ follows confirmation the UQ Sport Athletics Centre will host round three of the four-round Series, with a two-day tournament to take place on 16-17 September 2017.

Cherry said she expects the event to be well-supported.

“I’ve seen the great atmosphere at UQ Rugby Club’s Brisbane Premier Rugby matches, so I’m excited to see UQ host round three,” she said.

“I hope people from all over Brisbane come along to see women’s rugby sevens at a high level—I guarantee they’ll enjoy it.”

The event is expected to feature additional men’s and women’s sevens tournaments involving UQ Colleges and Brisbane-based rugby teams.

2017 AON Uni 7s Series teams:

  • University of Queensland, QLD
  • Griffith University, QLD
  • Bond University, QLD
  • University of New England, NSW
  • Macquarie University, NSW
  • University of Canberra, ACT
  • University of Adelaide, SA
  • University of Tasmania, TAS.

2017 AON Uni 7s Series fixtures:

  • Round 1—University of Tasmania Stadium, Launceston (25-26 August 2017)
  • Round 2—Macquarie University, Sydney (9-10 September 2017)
  • Round 3—UQ Sport Athletics Centre, University of Queensland (16-17 September 2017)
  • Round 4—Bond University, Gold Coast (29-30 September 2017).

Most Popular


To Top