Arts and Design

Supporting students’ creativity

The 2018 Exit Art exhibition opens and runs until Sunday, 13 May, 2018. NT Minister for Education, Eva Lawler, officially opened the collection at the Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory (MAGNT).

The popular annual exhibition showcases works by the Territory’s most creative Year 12 visual arts students of 2017.

“Visual arts are an important part of our school curriculum and promote innovation and creativity,” Ms Lawler said. “The arts challenge students, giving them the opportunity to think ‘outside the box’ and apply that to their learning not just in the creative arts, but across other subjects as well.

“By continuing to support initiatives such as this exhibition, the Territory Government is giving emerging young artists the chance to develop a portfolio that demonstrates their talent to universities and employers.”

The exhibition features the work of 44 artists selected from 13 schools in urban and remote communities. It showcases an impressive range of contemporary artistic techniques including polymer, oil and water paint, printmaking, photography, film and digital media, and architectural modelling.

“This is a fantastic opportunity for educators, parents and the wider community to celebrate the unique vision of these young Territorians,” Ms Lawler said.

Congratulations to the following students who received the following awards:

  • Minister’s Choice Award: Rebekka Kantjapi
  • Darwin Visual Arts Association Award: Ayla Thorbjornsen
  • Art Educators of the Northern Territory Award: Keiffer Clarke

Merit Awards are given to students who received an A+ merit for their final year 12 work. The recipients are:

  • The Merit Award for Visual Arts – Design: Cassandra Savvas
  • The Merit Award for Visual Arts – Art: Lara Connor
  • The Merit Award for Visual Arts – Art: Charlotte Docksey
  • The Merit Award for Visual Arts – Art: Lexi Spurr

The People’s Choice Award is open until Thursday, April 26 2018, and will be announced on Friday, April 27 2018.

Source: NT Government

Most Popular


To Top