News and Views

Territory Government awards $15,000 Aboriginal Teaching Scholarships

Eleven aspiring Aboriginal teachers are on their way to realising their dreams, thanks to $15,000 university scholarships from the Territory Government.

The nine women and two men have each been awarded the Teaching – Growing our Future scholarships, which brings the total number of current recipients over three rounds to 34.

The scholarship aims to support and encourage Aboriginal Territorians to study education, giving successful applicants $15,000 per year for a four year Bachelor of Education at Charles Darwin University or for the two year postgraduate equivalent.

The 2020 recipients are:

  • Jessica Procak
  • Kimberley Fawcett
  • Melissa Sams
  • Mia Stanford
  • Siobhan Roe
  • Skye Connors
  • Zachary Stanislaus
  • Christopher Williams
  • Eden Cameron
  • Marjorie Foster
  • Violet Hilderbrandt

In 2016, the Territory Government promised to increase the Aboriginal workforce by 500 more teachers, nurses and police officers by 2026.

The first round of teaching scholarships were offered in 2018 to students enrolled in full-time studies in the Northern Territory.

Source: NT Government

Most Popular


To Top