Who's Who

Uni triumphs at international advocacy contest

The University of Queensland’s TC Beirne School of Law has beaten more than 600 teams from around the world to be crowned the winner of the 2018 Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition in Washington DC, USA.

The team – Samara Cassar, Hennie Lui, Julius Moller, Claire Robertson and Edward Watson – defeated the National Law School of India University at the prestigious event at the weekend.

This is the third time UQ has won the international competition, which is the world’s oldest and largest international moot court event.

Acting Head of School Professor Fiona Rohde said she was delighted with the team’s outstanding performance.

“I offer my hearty congratulations to the team on this incredible achievement,” Professor Rohde said.

“The team’s coaches, Keilin Anderson, Camille Boileau and Liz Stanley, provided dedication and support throughout the competition.”

UQ acting Vice-Chancellor Professor Aidan Byrne said the students had continued UQ’s record of success in mooting competitions nationally and internationally

“This achievement is testament to the high quality of legal advocacy, research, preparation and practice by the UQ Jessup team and the support of academics, judiciary, and alumni involved in the Law School’s mooting program,” he said.

The Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Competition, founded in 1959, is considered the world’s most significant mooting contest.

More than 600 teams from 95 countries take part in regional rounds for a chance to compete in the White and Case championship rounds held in Washington in April 2018.

Mooting teams are challenged to solve an international controversy based on a fictional dispute before the International Court of Justice, the judicial organ of the United Nations.

2018’s Jessup problem involved interpretation of a fictional bilateral treaty and raised legal questions about the meaning and application of customary international law, the law of the sea and use of force.

The UQ team won the Australian rounds of the competition at the High Court of Australia in Canberra in February 2018.

UQ’s Professor Anthony Cassimatis was national coordinator of the Australian rounds.

Source: UQ

Most Popular


To Top