Science and Technology

26 students vie for science and engineering awards

What do fungi, rips, Alzheimer’s and hoodies have in common?

They are some of the topics researched by Australia’s future science leaders and finalists in 2016’ BHP Billiton Science and Engineering Awards.

Twenty-six Australian teenagers have been selected as finalists in the 2017 BHP Billiton Science and Engineering Awards and acknowledged for their innovative science and engineering projects.

These students from around the country are among the finest young scientific minds in Australia, and have gone through rigorous judging to be selected for Australia’s most prestigious school science and engineering awards.

They will be competing for a range of prizes including the chance to represent Australia at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (Intel ISEF) in the United States in May 2017.

“2016 marks the 36th BHP Billiton Science and Engineering Awards and through the BHP Billiton Foundation we are thrilled to support bright, young future scientists and engineers,” Chairman of the BHP Billiton Foundation Karen Wood said.

“I’m very proud of what the awards aim to achieve in encouraging students to explore, research and delight in the study of science, and challenge their understanding of the world around them.”

The awards reward young people who have undertaken practical research projects that demonstrate innovative approaches and thorough scientific or engineering procedures.

“STEM drives innovation globally but in Australia the participation and engagement in STEM subjects by school students is declining,” CSIRO Chief Executive Larry Marshall said.

“These Awards are an innovative and inspiring way to connect with future STEM professionals and encourage them to join us in tackling the challenges of tomorrow.

“The work that these students have done is truly inspiring and I have high hopes for the future of Australia.”

The Awards have been running since 1981 and are a partnership between BHP Billiton Foundation, CSIRO and the Australian Science Teachers Association (ASTA).

They are supported by the BHP Billiton Foundation and managed by CSIRO.

The winners of the Awards will be announced at a presentation held in Melbourne at ZINC at Federation Square on Tuesday 7 February 2017 from 11am to 2pm.

The ceremony will be attended by Dr Larry Marshall, Chief Executive CSIRO.

Most Popular


To Top